The Thomas Hardy Short Story Page


This page is dedicated to the

Short Stories


Thomas Hardy



His characters will live on in the hearts of so many.


Please consider making a donation of any amount to help support the cost of maintaining this site. Thank you !


The Short Stories:


Following is an Alphabetical List.

For a listing according to volume, click here.


Absent-Mindedness in a Parish Choir (1891)

Alicia's Diary (1887)

Andrey Satchel and the Parson and Clerk (1891)

Anna, Lady Baxby (1890)

Barbara Of The House Of Grebe (1890)

Blue Jimmy: The Horse Stealer (1911)

A Changed Man (1900)

A Committee-Man of "The Terror" (1896)

Destiny and a Blue Cloak (1874)

The Distracted Preacher (1879)

The Doctor's Legend (1891)

The Duchess of Hamptonshire (1878)

The Duke's Reappearance (1896)

Enter a Dragoon (1900)

Fellow-Townsmen (1880)

A Few Crusted Characters: Introduction (1891)

The Fiddler of the Reels (1893)

The First Countess of Wessex (1889)

For Conscience' Sake (1891)

The Grave By The Handpost (1897)

The History of the Hardcomes (1891)

The Honourable Laura (1881)

How I Built Myself A House (1865)

An Imaginative Woman (1894)

Incident in Mr. Crookhill's Life(1891)

Interlopers At The Knap (1884)

The Lady Icenway (1890)

Lady Mottisfont (1890)

The Lady Penelope (1890)

The Marchioness of Stonehenge (1890)

Master John Horseleigh, Knight (1893)

The Melancholy Hussar of The German Legion (1890)

A Mere Interlude (1885)

Netty Sargent's Copyhold (1891)

Old Andrey's Experience as a Musician (1891)

Old Mrs. Chundle (1929)

On The Western Circuit (1891)

Our Exploits At West Poley (1892-1893)

The Romantic Adventures Of A Milkmaid (1883)

The Son's Veto (1891)

The Spectre of the Real (1894)

Squire Petrick's Lady (1890)

The Superstitious Man's Story (1891)

The Thieves Who Couldn't Stop Sneezing (1877)

The Three Strangers (1883)

Tony Kytes, the Arch-Deceiver (1891)

To Please His Wife (1891)

A Tradition of Eighteen Hundred and Four (1882)

A Tragedy Of Two Ambitions (1888)

A Tryst At An Ancient Earthwork (1885)

The Unconquerable (1992)

The Waiting Supper (1887-1888)

What The Shepherd Saw (1881)

The Winters And The Palmleys (1891)

The Withered Arm (1888)




(date) = date of first printed appearance


*My Favorites: The History of the Hardcomes, The First Countess of Wessex, An Imaginative Woman, and The Waiting Supper

* A Note About the Text: Some words may seem incorrect in grammar and spelling. But Mr. Hardy used colloquial language for many of his characters, so this is actually true to the original text. Also, punctuation may not be consistent throughout all the stories because they were obtained from different sources. Click here to see a source list.

If you find any errors that need to be corrected, please e-mail me and I will see to it.


Created by: Darlyn

Contact me at:

Thanks for visiting! 

Click here for Thomas Hardy poetry