The Thomas Hardy Short Story Page


This page is dedicated to the

Short Stories


Thomas Hardy



His characters will live on in the hearts of so many.


The Short Stories:

Following is a listing by volume.

For an alphabetical listing, click here.



Wessex Tales

The Three Strangers (1883)

A Tradition of Eighteen Hundred and Four (1882)

The Melancholy Hussar of The German Legion (1890)

The Withered Arm (1888)

Fellow-Townsmen (1880)

Interlopers At The Knap (1884)

The Distracted Preacher (1879)



Life's Little Ironies

An Imaginative Woman (1894)

The Son's Veto (1891)

For Conscience' Sake (1891)

A Tragedy Of Two Ambitions (1888)

On The Western Circuit (1891)

To Please His Wife (1891)

The Fiddler of the Reels (1893)

A Few Crusted Characters (1891)


-Tony Kytes, the Arch-Deceiver

-The History of the Hardcomes

-The Superstitious Man's Story

-Andrey Satchel and the Parson and Clerk

-Old Andrey's Experience as a Musician

-Absent-Mindedness in a Parish Choir

-The Winters And The Palmleys

-Incident in the Life of Mr. George Crookhill

-Netty Sargent's Copyhold



A Group of Noble Dames (1891)

The First Countess of Wessex (1889)

Barbara Of The House Of Grebe (1890)

The Marchioness of Stonehenge (1890)

Lady Mottisfont (1890)

The Lady Icenway (1890)

Squire Petrick's Lady (1890)

Anna, Lady Baxby (1890)

The Lady Penelope (1890)

The Duchess of Hamptonshire (1878)

The Honourable Laura (1881)



A Changed Man

A Changed Man (1900)

The Waiting Supper (1887-1888)

Alicia's Diary (1887)

The Grave By The Handpost (1897)

Enter a Dragoon (1900)

A Tryst At An Ancient Earthwork (1885)

What The Shepherd Saw (1881)

A Committee-Man of 'The Terror' (1896)

Master John Horseleigh, Knight (1893)

The Duke's Reappearance (1896)

A Mere Interlude (1885)

The Romantic Adventures Of A Milkmaid (1883)



Excluded and Collaborative Stories

How I Built Myself A House (1865)

Destiny and a Blue Cloak (1874)

The Thieves Who Couldn't Stop Sneezing (1877)

Our Exploits At West Poley (1892-1893)

Old Mrs. Chundle (1929)

The Doctor's Legend (1891)

The Spectre of the Real (1894)

Blue Jimmy: The Horse Stealer (1911)

The Unconquerable (1992)


Return home



(date) = date of first printed appearance

*My Favorites: The History of the Hardcomes, The First Countess of Wessex, An Imaginative Woman, and The Waiting Supper

* A Note About the Text: Some words may seem incorrect in grammar and spelling. But Mr. Hardy used colloquial language for many of his characters, so this is actually true to the original text. Also, punctuation may not be consistent throughout all the stories because they were obtained from different sources. Click here to see a source list.

If you find any errors that need to be corrected, please e-mail me and I will see to it.


Created by:Darlyn

Contact me at: